top of page

Review: To All The Boys I've Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You


RATING: 5/5

This is one of my new favorite series!! I seriously could not put them down once I started reading. Jenny Han is an amazing, talented author who writes realistically. She's one of my favorite authors now.

I was expecting this series to be cheesy and not have a lot of substance but it pleasantly proved me wrong. These books were so much more than just about the letters she wrote and I really loved that. I was worried that the whole storyline would just be something along the lines of her freaking out, being embarressed and constantly dealing with the aftermath of her letters being released but it was actually a story about, family, friendship, taking risks and living life.

The characters in this series was what really made it great. The boys in this book were actual really decent guys. Like, basically perfect. Josh is one of my favorites, because he is genuinely such a good guy and boyfriend. I loved Kitty's sassy personality. I think Jenny Han did a really good job with portraying Kitty as that annoying little sister that matures a lot throughout the series. I liked the addition of the best friend Chris, who is one of those friends who you don't see much of and is totally opposite of you but you know that they've still got your back. Very relatable.

At first, I wasn't diggin' Lara Jean and Peter's relationship but it grew on me. Granted, the whole "fake dating" thing seemed pretty stupid and pointless, but I was glad to see it grow into an actual relationship. Plus, I really loved Peter's personality and the way he treated Lara Jean and her sister Kitty.

The focus on family in this series was really refreshing. A lot of books focus too much on romance, so reading about family love was such a nice change. The bond that the Song sisters have adds so much to their individual personalities. I also love that Jenny made the dad a widower, making it so that Margot and Lara Jean are the mother figures around the house. This made these characters so much more mature.

This series was a nice change from the typical lovey dovey teen romance books. It was perfectly written and I'm excited to read more from Jenny Han.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page