top of page

Review: Across the Universe


RATING: 5/5

This book was a total cover buy for me. I didn't even think I'd enjoy it since I'm not that into sci-fy books. I had no idea what this book was about and didn't even know it was a series. I heard that this edition was an old one that's hard to get now so when I saw it being sold by a third party on Amazon I had to get it. Then I fell in love with it and bought the next two books, which was hard to find pretty covers for since the new ones are gross looking, but I managed to.

This is a unique dystopian story about Amy and her parents who board a space ship headed to another planet. They will be frozen for 300 years until they arrive. Amy's parents are skilled and will be needed to help create a sustainable new world for humanity. Amy tags along, willing to leave everyone behind on Earth and follow her parents into the unknown.

But things go horribly wrong when Amy is awoken earlier than her parents and can't be refrozen. Now, she must live among the people on the ship and assimilate into their twisted society. And it really is twisted. Everyone is like mindless drones that follows orders and doesn't show feelings. They're monoethnic. They have a "mating season" and everyone is either 20 years old or 40. It's very strange but so interesting to read about.

You meet a bunch of great characters like Eldest, the leader of the ship, who's hiding secrets and Elder, the soon-to-be-leader who develops feelings for Amy. You slowly find out there's a lot of weird stuff happening on the ship and it keeps you on edge and wanting to find out more. There are twists and turns in every chapter and you get to see a developing relationship between Amy and Elder. But it's not a romance novel. It focuses mostly on the ship's society and Amy's new life there.

It's such a captivating story that's so different from any dystopian I've read. You feel so many different emotions while reading it. Sadness and pity for Amy. Disgust and confusion from the behavior of the people on the ship. Curiosity to who unplugged Amy and why.

I highly recommend this to anyone who's a fan of dystopians, sci-fy, mystery, suspense and space related books. It's absolutely amazing and holds beauty far beyond its cover.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page