top of page

Review: 99 Days


RATING: 3/5

Despite the reviews I got about this book, it wasn't as terrible as a lot of people said. Don't get me wrong, it has its flaws, but I still found it an entertaining read.

This book was basically a combination of Second Chance Summer and the Summer Trilogy. It probably would have been better in my mind if I haven't read these other books, but since I did, this story line was way too identical to be that interesting to me. Been there, read that.

Similarities to Second Chance Summer:

  • Both girls have left behind a total mess, where they caused drama and left people hating them.

  • Both girls have this urge to run away when things get messy.

  • Both do run away, until they have to return to the place they left behind and face the aftermath of what they've done.

  • Both have to redeem themselves and fix the messes they made.

Similarities to the Summer Trilogy:

  • Both girls have a thing with two brothers, causing fights and drama within the family.

  • Both brothers are fighting over the girl.

  • Both girls can't make up their freaking minds over who they want to be with, leading two guys on and making a bigger mess of things.

An interesting plot point was that the whole town knew about Molly and the two boys because HER MOM WROTE A BOOK ABOUT IT. What kind of mother exploits her daughter's secrets to write a best seller. Poor Molly had all her secrets out there for everyone to find out and it completely soiled her reputation among everyone she knew. So messed up.

Moving on, let's talk about how Gabe is such a babe! Like, where do I sign up to get me one of him? It was so sweet that he was the only one who would talk to Molly when everyone in town hated her and that he stood up for her. He was such a good friend and an even better boyfriend to her. I liked him WAY more than Patrick. Patrick irritated me so much I didn't understand why Molly would want him back.

There were a lot of interesting characters in this book with a lot of variety. There were Gabe's laidback friends, Molly's old friends who started hanging out with her again, some girls who still gave her shit, Molly's adoptive mom, and Patrick and his new girlfriend. I liked the characters but not so much the story.

What really irked me about the story was that SHE'S SO STUPID. Meaning, after what she did in the past (which I won't spoil), SHE ENDS UP DOING IN THE END AND SOLVING NOTHING. Then she goes off to college. Like, it was the most pointless ending ever. It was all decent until the end where I was like wow I'm done (and thank god I was actually done with the book too).

Other than the storyline, I found the writing itself to be sometimes hard to read or understand. Punctuation would be missing where it should be and the clauses would be placed in sentences in a way that made it confusing to understand what the author is trying to say. I would have to read certain sentences over and over again to finally get what it says.

If you haven't read Second Chance Summer or the Summer Trilogy, I'd (barely) recommend this book. If you have, don't waste your time reading another book just like it.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page