top of page

Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson


RATING: 4/5

This was an interesting one of John Green's books. He teamed up with David Levithan to write this one. David is known for his writing about gay teens and I think these two authors coming together was the perfect combination. This book wasn't as grasping as John's other books, in my opinion, but it kept my attention enough for me to finish it in two days.

Interesting choice in characters. Will Grayson (#1) is very stick-to-myself, keep-my-head-down. It's ironic that his best friend happens to be a giant, flamboyantly gay football player, named Tiny. Other Will Grayson is even more of a stick-to-myself kid, who's depressed and figuring out his sexuality.

I liked the storyline a lot. Two guys with the same name who happen to live relatively close to each other meet randomly and their lives sort of blend together. I've always liked stories that are narrated by more than one person.

I love the topics presented in this book. John Green does a great job at depicting teen life. This book deals with depression, being gay, struggling with relationships, and what it's like being in an online relationship. A lot of current issues that teens today can relate to.

I love John Green's works and this was a good book, but it didn't live up to the standards that The Fault In Our Stars or Paper Towns set.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page