top of page

Review: An Abundance Of Katherines


RATING: 3/5

I don't have much to say about this book except that it was my least favorite John Green book, which saddened me. I just couldn't get interested in it. The main character, Colin, is this prodigy nerd who has dated 19 girls named Katherine. Like, who does that? Kind of a weird concept to write a book on but I respect the uniqueness of it. The entire thing revolved around Colin trying to figure out some mathmatical solution to determining how relationships will end and for how long they'd last. Kind of boring to me since it involved math. His best friend, Hassan, and Colin go off on a spontaneous road trip and decide to just spend the summer in some random, rinky-dink town, living and working for these people they just met. Seems legit.

The book was witty and charming but very dull for me. There's a lot of footnotes with random facts, most of which is stuff Colin talks about throughout the book. It was an interesting writing style but also kind of annoying, especially since I started reading the book in my iBooks of my phone and all the footnotes would be at the end of the chapter instead of on their respective pages.

I love John Green's writing and thought it was written well, but I just wasn't feeling the storyline or the characters in this one. Sorry John.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page