top of page

Review: Thirteen Reasons Why


RATING: 4.5/5

This is one of my favorite books because I really love the unique storyline. I read this my sophomore year of high school but decided to read it again, 5 years later. The second time through, I realized that the actual writing isn't that good, but I still do love the whole story and concept.

Hannah Baker committed suicide and left behind 13 cassette tapes explaining the 13 reasons why she did it. The box of tapes has been going around to all 13 people who had something to do with Hannah Baker's suicide. Clay Jensen receives the box and is confused to why he made the list.

I love that Hannah made the tapes so that the people who led her towards ending her life know that they did. Yeah, it's harsh and if I ever received something like that I could just imagine the horror and guilt of it all. But the whole concept of the book really emphasizes how people's actions have consequences. Rumors, harrassment, embarressment, can all kill. It really shows that you have to be careful how you treat people because you don't know what they're going through. What may be a harmless joke to you could be the reason why someone takes their life.

Along with the tapes are a map of the places where such things horrible things occurred to Hannah that scared her. This map leads Clay all around town as he follows her journey via tapes. I like that Hannah allows the 13 to share in her memories by going to these places. Now, their every day hangout spots have been tainted by them knowing what happened to Hannah there.

I definately recommend this book to people. It's a great YA book and if you love books that deal with social issues, this is one to read. I like to read books that focus heavily on things like depression, suicide, prostitution etc. Ellen Hopkins is my favorite author. I read this book before I read any of Hopkins' books, and I would say that this book sparked my interest in this genre.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page