top of page

Review: Second Chance Summer


RATING: 2/5

I was very disappointed with this book. It was very slow and hard to get into. It took me quite a while to finish it because I didn't have much interest in it. It was pretty unexciting and when there was suppose to be an eventful moment in the story, I found it bland because it was so predictable.

The main character, Taylor, has a habit of running or fleeing when things get bad or complicated. I found this extremely annoying, even though the whole moral of the story was to face your challenges and don't run when things get tough. But throughout the book, I found her runaway personality to be immature and just made everything worse, which she clearly didn't understand.

None of the characters stood out to me. Her brother and sister were very irritating. Her ex-bestfriend was very stuck up and Mean Girl-y. Her ex-boyfriend was probably my favorite but even his personality wasn't all that prominent.

__________________________________________________________________

SPOILERS

The book lacked a lot of emotion, considering that her father was dying of cancer. Even though this was due to everyone trying to pretend that everything was okay, I felt the story would've had more depth if they focused more on her dying father and how it was effecting her.

Towards the end, when her dad was getting worse and worse, I did like the father/daughter sentiment. I'm a sucker for anything sweet and sad about dads and daughters since I'm a daddy's girl.

I also thought it was really stupid of Taylor to break up with Henry just because her dad was sick and she thought it'd be better to just end things. I understand that she wanted to focus on her family but it didn't mean she had to end such a good thing. Henry would've been understanding of it all. I'm glad that they got back together in the end.

__________________________________________________________

Overall, this book's concept had potential to be really captivating but the plot and characters and writing just didn't have me feeling it.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page