top of page

Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After


RATING: 4.5/5

I was actually surprised that I enjoyed this book as much as I did. I Ioved Anna but didn't like Lola, so I wasn't sure how I'd feel about Isla. I thought it would be disgustingly cheesy and fluffy. I mean, read the title. But actually, there was something magical about it.

In the beginning, I thought Isla was pretty creepy. Like borderline stalkerish. But then I realized, that's actually how it feels when you're in a love with someone from afar. It may seem creepy, but when you're so infatuated with someone, you tend to memorize little details about them and think about them constantly and notice their habits. So I realized that Isla is just like me, and found her crush to be really spot on and sweet.

I wasn't really even in the mood to read a fluffy romance novel. So I definitely thought I would get sick of it. But there's something about this book that made it really tolerable, so much so that I was so emotionally invested I almost cried tears of sadness and joy. Maybe it was the writing, or the characters. I'm not entirely sure, but it really got to me.

It did get a little frustrating in the middle. Spoilers coming up.

____________________________________________________________

SPOILERS

I was so upset when Isla broke up with Josh. WHAT WAS SHE THINKING. I absolutely hate when girls feel like they know what boys are thinking and feeling. Isla just kept going on and on about how she was just a distraction for Josh and how he was just using her to fill his loneliness. LIKE HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT. And she breaks up with him before he can break up with her. LIKE WHY WOULD YOU MAKE YOURSELF MISERABLE!?

Granted, towards the end I felt bad for her. She didn't believe she was capable of being loved. That hurt my heart. I'm glad she realized how ridiculous she was being and they got back together.

ALSO ANNA AND ETTIENE GOD HELP ME. When he proposed I LITERALLY SCREAMED AND ALMOST CRIED. It's been a while since I've been THAT emotionally invested in a book but my god I love them so much and I'm so happy for these beautiful fictional characters.

_____________________________________________________________

Basically, this book was everything. It's cheesy and cliche in the best of ways. It's romantic, passionate, and perfect.

Featured Review
Post List
bottom of page